USA South Announces 50th Anniversary Baseball Team

USA South Announces 50th Anniversary Baseball Team

(FAYETTEVILLE, N.C.) – The 2013-14 season serves as the 50th for the USA South Athletic Conference. In an effort to relive 50 Years of great student-athlete performances, each current League institution was given the opportunity to submit names of student-athletes who have competed within the Conference, completed their athletic eligibility and excelled not only on their campuses but in the Conference as a whole.

The maximum amount of athletes an institution could submit for each sport was twice the typical starting lineup of that particular sport. Due to the short length of their presence in the USA South or sport-sponsorship, some current USA South institutions are not included in some of the sports.

The sport of baseball begin in the Conference in 1969 as a regular season championship was awarded. In 1994, the first Conference Baseball Tournament was conducted. The Conference has consistently been one of the nation's best Division III baseball leagues. The League has sent numerous teams to the NCAA Division III World Series and produced two national champions. N.C. Wesleyan is the lone Conference team to win a baseball national crown, capturing the 1989 and 1999 National Championships.

The USA South's 50th Anniversary Baseball Team Members follow (as chosen by the particular institution):

Averett University
Chad Anderson Ryan Ansama T.J. Bray Jimmy Carter Jerry Dallas
Jason Dooley George Fisher Eddie Guessford Adam Higgins Jordan Kidd
Andrew Kirks Terrell Merriman Jimbo Newcomb Kyle Newcomb Eric Phelps
Desmond Pruitt Armando Reyes Eric Sibrizzi Ahmed Shelton Chris Stanley
Greg Stevens Gene Yost    


Ferrum College
Kevin Alger Jason Beale Heath Burcher Pat Daly Chad France
Justin Franklin Jimmy Hamilton Doug Heagen Riley Hodges Paul Jaglowski
David Jones Randy Lawrence Chad Maddox Wes Martin Keith Mayhew
Thomas Meeks Eric Owens Grant Renfrow Jerold Smith Brian Strong
Brett Thomas Billy Wagner      


Greensboro College
Justin Allen Jason Bowman Pat Burgess Quinn Finnegan Jeff Gregory
Kevin Jackson Andy Jankowski Brent Justice AnDrew Keever Taylor Kennedy
Brian Kreher Larry Lockhart Jess Maloney Ray Michael Rick Michael
Kit Mock Kevin Mong Jeremy Morrison Torrey Poholsky Daniel Poindexter
Rick Reineke Terry Thompson      


Methodist University
Jesus Adames Matt Boucher Mike Brewington Brandon Bridgers Robert Bryant
Earl Bunn Bill Chapman Joe Corretjer Mike Currie Jansen Evans
Brian Ford Doug Garner Dan Giles Danny Hartline Rodney Jones
Jay Kirkpatrick Audwin Pellom Ron Proctor Ronnie Roberts Dave Roller
Trey Such Sam Tolar      


N.C. Wesleyan College
James Anderson Chris Bryant Greg Clark Tom D’Aquila Rusty Dail
Erik Dube Steve Durelli Sean Fleming Doug Flowers Eric Jarman
Rich McNee Frankie Moore Carl Payne Paul Prisco Jon Rardin
Blake Rice Jayson Sigley Mark Silletti Charlie Simpson Matt Smith
Jeremy Stewart Jamie Whiting      


To view each of the USA South Anniversary Teams, please click HERE!

To view more ways the USA South is celebrating its 50th year, please click HERE!