USA South Announces 50th Anniversary Men's Basketball Team

USA South Announces 50th Anniversary Men's Basketball Team

(FAYETTEVILLE, N.C.) – The 2013-14 season serves as the 50th for the USA South Athletic Conference. In an effort to relive 50 Years of great student-athlete performances, each current League institution was given the opportunity to submit names of student-athletes who have competed within the Conference, completed their athletic eligibility and excelled not only on their campuses but in the Conference as a whole.

The maximum amount of athletes an institution could submit for each sport was twice the typical starting lineup of that particular sport. Due to the short length of their presence in the USA South or sport-sponsorship, some current USA South institutions are not included in some of the sports.

The sport of men's basketball is one of the five original Conference-sponsored sports as the first regular season and tournament championships took place during the 1963-64 season. Each institution which has spent at least five years in the Conference has laid claim to at least one regular season or tournament championship. The League has produced many great individual performers including Conference Hall of Famer, Lamont Strothers of Christopher Newport University who became just the seventh Division III player ever to be selected in the National Basketball Association (NBA) draft, and the highest choice ever, when he was taken by the Golden State Warriors in the second round in 1991.

The USA South's 50th Anniversary Men's Basketball Team Members follow (as chosen by the particular institution):

Averett University
David Apple James "Boo" Braxton Damien Brown Chad Ford Demarcus Morrison
Justin Pierce Jonathan Rumley Tony Seay Jay Tate Marcus Tucker


Ferrum College
Keith Crump Everett Foxx Jon Godsey Michael Hunter Lamont King
Andre Levisy Marcus Mayo Derek Mitchell Rodney Ponzo Marcus Toney


Greensboro College
Kevin Beard Clarence Caldwell Damon Forney Marcellus Morgan Chakiris Moss
Adam Nicholson Dean Oldman Greg Osteen Shannon Scales Luquman Tijani


Methodist University
Jason Childers Jim Darden Roy Henderson Bobby Hodges Greg Jones
Montrell McNair Sam Porter Elton Stanley Seth Thomas Clarence Wiggins


N.C. Wesleyan College
Bradley Blue Trey Drake Brandon Givens Jamar Jones Marquis McDougald
Chris Moody Keith Sudler Roger Taylor Lloyd Watts Terry Wright

To view each of the USA South Anniversary Teams, please click HERE!

To view more ways the USA South is celebrating its 50th year, please click HERE!