USA South Announces 50th Anniversary Men's Soccer Team

USA South Announces 50th Anniversary Men's Soccer Team

(FAYETTEVILLE, N.C.) – The 2013-14 season serves as the 50th for the USA South Athletic Conference. In an effort to relive 50 Years of great student-athlete performances, each current League institution was given the opportunity to submit names of student-athletes who have competed within the Conference, completed their athletic eligibility and excelled not only on their campuses but in the Conference as a whole.

The maximum amount of athletes an institution could submit for each sport was twice the typical starting lineup of that particular sport. Due to the short length of their presence in the USA South or sport-sponsorship, some current USA South institutions are not included in some of the sports.

The USA South began sponsoring a regular season championship in the sport of men's soccer in 1966. In 2000, the Conference's annual men's soccer tournament was first conducted. The Conference has produced five national champions and three national runners-up. Former member UNC-Greensboro captured the NCAA Division III National Championship in 1982, 1983, 1985, 1986 and 1987. Current members Greensboro College and Methodist University were each a win away from a national title as The Pride were National Runners-Up in 1989 and 1998 while the Monarchs earned that title in 1995. Individually, several players who have spent time in the Conference have furthered their athletic careers at the professional level.

The USA South's 50th Anniversary Men's Soccer Team Members follow (as chosen by the particular institution):

Averett University
Nate Barker Chris Barocas Mark Bolton Maricio Garcia Matt Grennan Justin Hacker
Jorma Hjelt Markus Honkimaa Pekka Kaartinen Mikka Korhanen Karl Leiberman Samuli Markkanen
Keith Marro Harry Pieri Allan Raymond Adrian Rigby Jarmo Saloranta Eric Teepe
John Thrower Jaako Vaanenen John “Frenchy” Vigouroux Jeff Yu    


Ferrum College
Jack Collins Will Cunningham Patrick George Matt Glod Glen Hofstrom Ken Howe
Josh Jones Stevie Reynolds Thomas Robinson Emerson Umana    


Greensboro College
Chris Beirne Andrew Clark Dan Collins Glen Collins Duncan Edwards Tony Falvino
Robert Fricke Paul Gazzara Mike Grimsley Eric Hatchett Henderson Hicks Chris King
Reggie Koranteng John LaPlante Carlton Mack Ben Maxwell Ryan Nelsen Brandon Overby
Richard Ronemus Derek Schroll Michael Smith Brian Thierrin    


Methodist University
Finbarr Clancy Shane Davis Jay Haley Kenneth Hoey David Holmes Atsuo Kamasaki
Denny Laird Bryan Madej Jimmy Maher Fernando Martinez Karl Molner Michael Scobee
Chris Shaw Paul Smith Steve Springthorpe Justin Terranova Lance Watkins  


N.C. Wesleyan College
Greg Armand Salvador Benitez, Jr. Cale Bennett Jason Botanni Kenny Bowers Jon Dyer
Lucas Fuentes Chad Garbrandt Taher Husain Robert Ivanovich Danny Jones Alimamy Kargbo
Scott Kennell Marco Kirsch Shaun Oliveria Danny Persson Scott Preston Bill Tully
Stephen Tupy Shamil Salah Owen White Edgar Zaldivar    

To view each of the USA South Anniversary Teams, please click HERE!

To view more ways the USA South is celebrating its 50th year, please click HERE!