USA South Announces 50th Anniversary Softball Team

USA South Announces 50th Anniversary Softball Team

(FAYETTEVILLE, N.C.) – The 2013-14 season serves as the 50th for the USA South Athletic Conference. In an effort to relive 50 Years of great student-athlete performances, each current League institution was given the opportunity to submit names of student-athletes who have competed within the Conference, completed their athletic eligibility and excelled not only on their campuses but in the Conference as a whole.

The maximum amount of athletes an institution could submit for each sport was twice the typical starting lineup of that particular sport. Due to the short length of their presence in the USA South or sport-sponsorship, some current USA South institutions are not included in some of the sports.

The sport of softball began in the Conference in a slow-pitch format with its first championships awarded in 1982 and transitioned into fast-pitch three years later. It is not unusual to see multiple Conference teams receive a bid to the NCAA Tournament. At least two Conference teams have been selected to play in the NCAA Tournament in six of the last seven seasons. Recently, the Conference Tournament has been very competitive as a different team has received the Conference's automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament for four consecutive years.

The USA South's 50th Anniversary Softball Team Members follow (as chosen by the particular institution):

Averett University
Emily Atkinson Pat Barbour Lindi Beamon Laura Bowman Crystal Chandler
Kristy Crews Sandra Dennison Pam Dabbs Brittany Estep Michelle Hallett
Dawn Hamlet Brooke Hensley Kelly Jefferson Katie Jimmo Amber Lowery
Mary Manderfield Lisa Morris Heather Mull Judi Overbey Magen Powell
Jenna Ruder Kelly Witt      


Ferrum College
Brittany Barlow Mary Ellen Black Shelley Bowles Kristy Cornett Kim Cox
Lindsay Cox Kaitlyn Culler Audra Freeman Shannon Jost Lindsey Moore
Trica Moore Lisa Pendleton Becky Piloto Stacy Porter Jamie Reed
Lauren Rizzo Julie Shifflett Hannah Shumaker Rachel Shumaker Pam Smythers
Angela Stover Roben Sutphin      


Greensboro College
Donna Christy Jessica Clack Francis Constantino Brittany Evans Missy Fesperman
Gena Inman Jennee Johnson Karin Johnson Lisa Oltman Lorraine Orr
Brittany Parsons Rebecca Pink Jamie Pittman Hannah Pennell Jennifer Sims
Brittany Teer        


Meredith College
Emily Cook Kristin Morris Arielle Stout Alex Warren


Methodist University
Adrienne Acosta Robin Baxley Julia Best Monica Dunn Linda Eberly
Connie Francis Lesley Hewitt Candace Hudgins Heather Hugus Rebekah Kelly
Kristen Kennedy Lindsay Leitao Kim McCall Adrienne Midgley Jennifer Patrick
Lynder Smith Jennifer Sorensen Kayla Talbert Kristen Wallace Lisa Wymer
Becky Younger        


N.C. Wesleyan College
Ashlee Bass Laura Boggs Tammy Bowen Kim Breeden Kristy Coull
Lisa Derbin Kathy Deyo Amy Dodson Sharon Fitzpatrick Libby Fulford
Candace Hall Shelley Hinson Leslie Kobasa Jennifer Littlejohn Jill Livezey
Meredith Mills Whitney Moshier Kim Olsen Courtney Tucker Carrie Shank
Sara Svejda Chontae Uptegrow      


William Peace University
Joanie Blevins Holly Braswell Niki Dobbins Summer Greer Sarah Heenan
Lindsey Moore Lauren Pleasant Amanda Rothwell Ashley Stansbury Tatum Townsend
Morgan Weathington Anna Weavil Kendra Yearick    


To view each of the USA South Anniversary Teams, please click HERE!

To view more ways the USA South is celebrating its 50th year, please click HERE!