USA South Announces 50th Anniversary Men's & Women's Cross Country Teams

USA South Announces 50th Anniversary Men's & Women's Cross Country Teams

(FAYETTEVILLE, N.C.) – The 2013-14 season serves as the 50th for the USA South Athletic Conference. In an effort to relive 50 Years of great student-athlete performances, each current League institution was given the opportunity to submit names of student-athletes who have competed within the Conference, completed their athletic eligibility and excelled not only on their campuses but in the Conference as a whole.

The maximum amount of athletes an institution could submit for each sport was twice the typical starting lineup of that particular sport. Due to the short length of their presence in the USA South or sport-sponsorship, some current USA South institutions are not included in some of the sports.

The sport of men's cross country is as old as the USA South itself as the Conference sponsored its first championship in 1963. As for women's cross country, the first Conference championship was awarded in 1994. The team competition has been dominated by former member Christopher Newport University as the Captains earned 27 men's crowns and 16 women's titles during their time in the League. The institution producing the individual Conference meet champion, however, has varied throughout the League. The Conference is annually well-represented at both the NCAA Division III Regional and National championships. The USA South can currently boast having the two-time defending NCAA Division III South/Southeast Region women's champion, Mary Baldwin's Sophia Stone.

The USA South's 50th Anniversary Men's and Women's Cross Country Team Members follow (as chosen by the particular institution):

Averett University
Men's Cross Country     
Travis Barber Casey Bowman Mark Bryant Nick Fitzgerald Eric Frank Dave Gouldin
Timo Harkonen Mikko Hermans Milton Mwangi Bryan Swann Scott Thompson Dan Veasey
Jimmy Welsh Michael Yates        
Women's Cross Country     
Mandy Adkins Beth Buckwalter Alisha Bretz Amy Cross Crystal Giles Karolina Honkanen
Emily Hetrick Niina Marttila Katri Pavord Beth Schledorn Elina Tolpaa Maaret Voutilainen
Jenni Vuola Tammy Wernik        


Ferrum College
Men's Cross Country
Joshua Horan Jimmy Pride Stanley Shelhorse Dwayne Williams David Witt  
Women's Cross Country
Kelly Bradish Lalita Brim Julie Burton Desiree Dayton Tiffany Garnett Leslie Lawson
Kelly Webber          


Greensboro College
Men's Cross Country
Michael Barnard Doug Holbrook Tim Insley Victor Lopez James Moffatt Marshall Steinmann
Francois Theriault Justin Tinder Paul Travers Jonnie Williams Paul Williams  
Women's Cross Country          
Beth Bostrom Staci Clark Tracey Comune Janeen Defeo Jasmin Duncan Kristi Hunter
Rebecca Ickes Jordan Joyce Heather Logan Alison Rogers Bett Shelby Heather Thorstad
Amanda Watson          


Mary Baldwin College
Holly Breen Christina Diette Rosa Moran Alyssa Starnes Kathryn Stephens


Meredith College
Megan Beebe Morgan Youd


Methodist University
Men's Cross Country
Greg Barnhill Craig Cicero Brian Cole Frank Curiel Jerry Huckabee Howard Hudson
Don King Husein Nasiro-Sigo John O'Rourke John Storms John Young  
Women's Cross Country  
Karen Aurer Christi Ferguson Krystal Patton Christine Tovar Kristyn Zeiler


William Peace University
Allison Gilmore Ashley Simms Lindsey Ward Kimberly Zullo

To view each of the USA South Anniversary Teams, please click

To view more ways the USA South is celebrating its 50th year, please click HERE!