Mary Baldwin Wins 2013 USA South Sportsmanship Trophy

Mary Baldwin Wins 2013 USA South Sportsmanship Trophy

(FAYETTEVILLE, N.C.) - The USA South Student-Athlete Advisory Committee has announced that Mary Baldwin College has been chosen as the winner of the 2013 USA South Sportsmanship Trophy. Mary Baldwin won the Sportsmanship Trophy for the second consecutive year after picking up the Sportsmanship Award in four sports during the 2012-2013 academic year. This is the fourth Sportsmanship Trophy for the Fighting Squirrels who were chosen as individual Sportsmanship Award winners in the sports of softball, women's soccer, volleyball and women's basketball.

There is a Sportsmanship Award for 11 of the 14 Conference-sponsored sports. For each sport, all team members vote for the team they deem to have demonstrated the best overall sportsmanship throughout the season. The team garnering the most votes receives that sport's Sportsmanship Award. The school that wins the most individual sport awards wins the overall USA South Sportsmanship Trophy. The award came about through SAAC's commitment to maintaining a sportsmanlike environment on each of our campuses.

LaGrange College was the only other school to win multiple (three) Sportsmanship Awards during the past academic year. Single Sportsmanship Award winners last year were Agnes Scott College, Averett University, Ferrum College, Methodist University and William Peace University.

The Student-Athlete Advisory Committee hopes that by awarding a Sportsmanship Award, the members of the USA South will understand the importance of this issue. It is vital that good sportsmanship be demonstrated in the arena of competition.

2012-13 Team Sportsmanship Award Winners
Baseball - Methodist University
Softball - Ferrum College & Mary Baldwin College
Men's Tennis - LaGrange College
Women's Tennis - William Peace University
Women's Lacrosse - Agnes Scott College
Men's Basketball - Averett University
Women's Basketball - Mary Baldwin College
Football - LaGrange College
Volleyball - Mary Baldwin College
Men's Soccer - LaGrange College
Women's Soccer - Mary Baldwin College

Past Sportsmanship Trophy Recipients
2012-13 - Mary Baldwin College
2011-12 - Mary Baldwin College
2010-11 - Ferrum College
2009-10 - Mary Baldwin College
2008-09 - Mary Baldwin College
2007-08 - Christopher Newport University
2006-07 - Averett University
2005-06 - Averett University
2004-05 - N.C. Wesleyan College