USA South Announces 2011 Hall of Fame Class

USA South Announces 2011 Hall of Fame Class

(FAYETTEVILLE, N.C.) - The USA South Athletic Conference is pleased to announce its 2011 Hall of Fame Class.

The 2011 class includes three former student-athletes, one coach and one administrator. Christopher Newport University, Greensboro College and North Carolina Wesleyan College are each represented in this year's class.

The inductees will be officially honored and recognized during a ceremony on the campus of Meredith College on Sunday, May 8, 2011.


The 2011 USA South Hall of Fame Inductees:


Clarence Caldwell was a three time All-Conference honoree during his basketball career at Greensboro College (1973-77). He was named to the Conference All-Tournament team three-times and was the 1976 Tournament Most Valuable Player. In 1977, Caldwell earned Honorable Mention All-American honors. His 100 points scored during the 1976 Conference Tournament still remains the league record. Caldwell is Greensboro’s all-time leader in career scoring and rebounding with 2,305 points and 1,008 rebounds. At the conclusion of his playing career, Caldwell’s #30 jersey was retired. In 1996, Caldwell was inducted into the Greensboro College Athletics Hall of Fame.

Andrew  McMurray, a star on the Greensboro College men’s golf team (1980-84), earned All-Conference and All-American honors each of his four years on campus. In 1994, McMurray claimed medalist accolades at the Conference Tournament. He led Greensboro to two Conference Tournament championships and four top-six finishes in the NCAA Tournament. McMurray has the distinction of being the first Greensboro athlete to earn First-Team All-American status. In 1996, McMurray was inducted into the Greensboro College Athletics Hall of Fame.

Roger Taylor was a two-time Most Valuable Player and All-Conference selection on the hardwood for North Carolina Wesleyan College (1969-70). He earned All-Academic, Most Outstanding Student-Athlete, and All-American accolades, becoming the first Bishop to earn such honors in any sport. Taylor is also one of only two NCWC men's basketball players to have his jersey retired. Taylor still holds the two highest single-game point totals in Wesleyan history, as well as single-season records for scoring average and rebounding. In 1970, Taylor took home Conference Co-Player of the Year accolades.




James Locke served as the head coach of the Greensboro College (1975-89) men’s golf program for 15 seasons. He was named Conference Coach of the Year five times and led the golf program to its first NCAA Tournament appearance in 1975. Locke led his teams to five Conference Championships and 12 NCAA Tournament berths including a runner-up performance in 1988. In addition to his duties on the golf course, Locke held various key positions on the Greensboro College campus including Special Assistant to the President, Dean of Students, Associate Director of Admissions and Director of Financial Aid. In 1989 he was honored with the formation of the Jim Locke Golf Outing which is held annually during Homecoming. Finally, in 1993, Locke was the first coach to be inducted into the Greensboro College Athletes Hall of Fame.


Wayne Block served as Sports Information Director for both Christopher Newport University (1983-2010) and the USA South (1984-2002). He established one of the first fax-back information systems in the nation for the Conference Office. Block won 79 College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) national publication awards, including 16 for Best in the Nation. He helped found the CNU Hall of Fame and was inducted in 2000. In 2005, Block won the Warren Berg Award from CoSIDA, the second highest award available to a Division III SID. He was named winner of the Virginia Sports Information Directors (VaSID) Distinguished Service Award in 1997, becoming the first sports information professional to receive the award. In 2010, CoSIDA presented Block with a Lifetime Achievement Award.


2011 USA South Hall of Fame Inductees
Wayne Block, Christopher Newport University - Administrator
Clarence Caldwell, Greensboro College - Student-Athlete
James Locke, Greensboro College - Coach
Andrew McMurray, Greensboro College - Student-Athlete
Roger Taylor, N.C. Wesleyan College - Student-Athlete


Current USA South Hall of Fame Members
Class of 2010
Tom Austin, Methodist University - Coach
Karen Barefoot, Christopher Newport University - Student-Athlete
Elena Blanina, Methodist University - Student-Athlete
Chad Collins, Methodist University - Coach
Steve Conley, Methodist University - Coach
Mike Fox, N.C. Wesleyan College - Coach
Eric Owens, Ferrum College - Student-Athlete
Don Scalf, N.C. Wesleyan College - Administrator
Lamont Strothers, Christopher Newport University - Student-Athlete
Billy Wagner, Ferrum College - Student-Athlete