USA South Announces 2012 Hall of Fame Class

USA South Announces 2012 Hall of Fame Class

(FAYETTEVILLE, N.C.) - The USA South Athletic Conference is pleased to announce its 2012 Hall of Fame Class.

The 2012 class includes two former student-athletes, two coaches and one administrator. Averett University, Christopher Newport University, Ferrum College, Methodist University and North Carolina Wesleyan College are each represented in this year's class.

The inductees will be officially honored and recognized during a ceremony on the campus of Ferrum College on Sunday, May 6, 2012.


The 2012 USA South Hall of Fame Inductees:


David Holmes was a three time All-American during his soccer career at Methodist University (1988-91). He was a three-time All-Conference performer and was named the 1990 Conference Player of the Year. Holmes helped the Monarchs to the program's first three Conference championships and their first two South Region titles. He was a three-time All-South Region selection and earned team Most Valuable Player honors twice. Holmes advanced to the professional soccer level, captaining three teams over the course of a six-year career. In 1999, Holmes was inducted into the Methodist University Athletics Hall of Fame.

Bren LaFlamme, a star on the Averett University volleyball team (1994-97), currently holds ten Conference records including kills in a match, season and career. LaFlamme was a 1997 Second Team All-American, a two-time All-South Region honoree and a three-time Conference Player of the Year. During her time in Danville, she helped lead the Cougars to four Conference Regular Season championships and three Tournament titles. At the conclusions of the 1996 and 1997 Conference Tournaments, LaFlamme earned Most Valuable Player accolades. In 2003, LaFlamme was inducted into the Averett University Athletics Hall of Fame. In 2011, she returned to her alma mater as the head coach of the Cougar softball team.




Abe Naff served as head coach of the Ferrum College (1985-2007) baseball program for 23 seasons. He was named Conference Coach of the Year four times and led the baseball program to eight Conference Regular Season championships, two Conference Tournament titles, ten NCAA Tournament berths and six NCAA Regional Runner-Up finishes. Naff coached 23 players who took their careers to the professional level, including former Major Leaguers, and USA South Hall of Famers, Billy Wagner and Eric Owens. He is currently ranked among the top-40 coaches all-time in NCAA Division III in the categories of winning percentage and total wins. Naff is a member of the Lynchburg College Sports Hall of Fame, the Salem-Roanoke Baseball Hall of Fame and the Ferrum College Athletics Hall of Fame. In 2007, Naff retired from coaching but remains as the Director of Athletics at Ferrum, a position he has held since 2004.

C.J. Woollum served as head coach of the Christopher Newport University (1984-2010) men’s basketball program for 26 years and the men's golf program for 13 years. He was named Men's Basketball Conference Coach of the Year six times and led the program to 17 NCAA Tournament appearances. His basketball teams captured 12 Conference Regular Season championships and 13 Conference Tournament titles. Woollum coached 11 players who subsequently played professional basketball, including USA South Hall of Fame member Lamont Strothers. He currently ranks 30th among NCAA Division III basketball coaches with a .694 winning percentage and 25th in total wins with 502. On the links, Woollum led his teams to six NCAA Tournament berths. He helped four players earn All-American honors and saw one golfer capture the NCAA Division III Individual National Championship. In 2007, Woollum was inducted into the Christopher Newport University Athletics Hall of Fame. In 2010, Woollum retired from coaching but remains as the Director of Athletics at Christopher Newport, a position he has held since 1987.




Raymond (Moe) Bauer served North Carolina Wesleyan College in many different capacities for over 33 years. He served as a head baseball coach, Director of Athletics, professor of physical education and professor of education. Bauer began the Bishop baseball program in 1961, designed the playing facility and served as the head coach for the first 13 seasons. In 1988, the College honored him by naming the surface where the baseball program still plays its games today, "Bauer Field". Prior to arriving at N.C. Wesleyan, Bauer was a standout baseball player at his alma mater, Wake Forest University. He was drafted by the Chicago Cubs and played professionally for eight seasons. Bauer is a member of both the Wake Forest University and North Carolina Wesleyan College Athletics Halls of Fame. Bauer passed away in 2005, leaving an enduring memory of service to the Bishop athletic program.


2012 USA South Hall of Fame Inductees
Raymond (Moe) Bauer, N.C. Wesleyan College - Administrator
David Holmes, Methodist University - Student-Athlete
Abe Naff, Ferrum College - Coach
Brenda LaFlamme West, Averett University - Student-Athlete
C.J. Woollum, Christopher Newport University - Coach


Current USA South Hall of Fame Members
Class of 2011
Wayne Block, Christopher Newport University - Administrator 
Clarence Caldwell, Greensboro College - Student-Athlete 
James Locke, Greensboro College - Coach
Andrew McMurray, Greensboro College - Student-Athlete
Roger Taylor, N.C. Wesleyan College - Student-Athlete 
Class of 2010
Tom Austin, Methodist University - Coach
Karen Barefoot, Christopher Newport University - Student-Athlete
Elena Blanina, Methodist University - Student-Athlete
Chad Collins, Methodist University - Coach
Steve Conley, Methodist University - Coach
Mike Fox, N.C. Wesleyan College - Coach
Eric Owens, Ferrum College - Student-Athlete
Don Scalf, N.C. Wesleyan College - Administrator
Lamont Strothers, Christopher Newport University - Student-Athlete
Billy Wagner, Ferrum College - Student-Athlete