USA South Baseball Awards Announced

(FAYETTEVILLE, N.C.) - The USA South Athletic Conference has announced its All-Conference awards for baseball. A total of 47 student-athletes have been named to the USA South All-Conference team. Shenandoah University's Scott Van Dusseldorp has been named the Player of the Year while his teammate, Greg Van Sickler has been named Pitcher of the Year. Averett University teammates Jordan Kidd and Chris Moyer were named Rookie of the Year and Rookie Pitcher of the Year, respectfully while N.C. Wesleyan College's Charlie Long was named the Coach of the Year. Also, the USA South recognized an All-Sportsmanship Team, consisting of one member from each competing school. All honors were determined by votes from the baseball coach at each institution.

Van Dusseldorp, a senior from Leesburg, Virginia, batted .419 with 50 RBI, 41 runs scored, 11 home runs, ten doubles, three triples and nine stolen bases. He was in the top-five of eight Conference statistical categories, including tied for the league-lead in home runs. In USA South-only contests, Van Dusseldorp compiled a Conference-best .561 on-base percentage. The third baseman played and started 33 games for Shenandoah, leading the Hornets in home runs, RBI and slugging percentage. As a First Team selection at third base this spring, Van Dusseldorp earns All-Conference honors for the first time in his career.

A junior from Stephenson, Virginia, Van Sickler posted a 6-1 record with a 2.37 ERA and 38 strikeouts in 60.2 innings pitched this spring. In USA South-only action this season, Van Sickler was 4-1 with a 2.87 ERA and 28 strikeouts in a league-high 47.0 innings pitched. He earned two First Team All-Conference accolades this spring, one as a utility player and the other as a starting pitcher. This is the second first team honor for Van Sickler at the utility position as he collected the same accolade as a freshman. Additionally, in his first season as a Hornet, Van Sickler was named the USA South Rookie of the Year. Finally, Van Sickler was named USA South Pitcher of the Week three times this spring.

Kidd, a freshman from Chesapeake, Virginia, played a key role in the Cougars' season as he batted .336 with 35 RBI, 27 runs scored, eight doubles, two triples, one home run and 12 stolen bases. He ranked second in the USA South with 149 at-bats. For his efforts, Kidd received Second Team All-Conference honors as an outfielder this season. Finally, Kidd was named USA South Rookie of the Week once this spring.

A freshman from Grafton, Virginia, Moyer posted a perfect 6-0 record with a 2.25 ERA in ten appearances, five of which were starts. He tossed a total of 44.0 innings, allowing 16 walks with 36 strikeouts while opponents hit just .202 against him. Moyer's six wins tied him for the league-lead. Additionally, Moyer earned USA South Rookie Pitcher of the Week honors three times this spring.

In his 13th season at N.C. Wesleyan, Head Coach Charlie Long collects his second consecutive Coach of the Year honor. It is the third time in this tenure he as earned the top coaching honor in the Conference. Long has led the Bishops to a 17-17 overall record, a 9-3 conference mark and the program's second consecutive USA South Regular Season title. The Bishops have now laid claim to 17 regular season Conference crowns in the program's history.

Player of the Year
Scott Van Dusseldorp - Shenandoah

Pitcher of the Year
Greg Van Sickler - Shenandoah

Rookie of the Year
Jordan Kidd - Averett

Rookie Pitcher of the Year
Chris Moyer - Averett

Coach of the Year
Charlie Long - N.C. Wesleyan

The 2010 USA South All-Conference Baseball Teams follow:

First Team
1B - Justin Franklin - Ferrum
2B - Brian Halpin - Methodist
3B - Scott Van Dusseldorp - Shenandoah
SS - Brian Inghram - Methodist
C -  Trey Such - Methodist
DH - Charles Beacom - Ferrum
Util - Greg Van Sickler - Shenandoah
OF - Kevin Brashears - Shenandoah
       Adam Higgins - Averett
       Matt Quick - Methodist
P - Greg Van Sickler - Shenandoah
     Andrew Webb - N.C. Wesleyan
RP - Rusty White - Methodist
Second Team
1B - Zach Alexander - N.C. Wesleyan
2B - Jon Holcomb - Shenandoah
3B - Shawn Lovette - Methodist
SS - Paul Jaglowski - Ferrum
C - Michael Moore - Averett
DH - Eric McGuire - Averett
Util -
Jimbo Newcomb - Averett
OF - Shannon Mark - Christopher Newport
       Adam Delauter - Shenandoah
       Jordan Kidd - Averett
P - Brian Mays - Ferrum
     Kurt Kelly - Methodist
RP - John Child - N.C. Wesleyan
Honorable Mention
1B - Jimmy Carter - Averett
2B - Jason Butterworth - Ferrum
3B - Eric Sibrizzi - Averett
SS - Michael Parker - Greensboro
C - Tyler Clark - N.C. Wesleyan
Util - Joel Creef - N.C. Wesleyan
OF - Connor Madden - Christopher Newport
       Brian Goodwin - Methodist
       Josh Montague - Greensboro
P - Landon Jordan - Methodist
     Josh Brinkman - Christopher Newport
     Jake Loye - Averett
     Max Knowles - N.C. Wesleyan
RP - Kyle Scallion - Shenandoah
All-Sportsmanship Team
Eric Sibrizzi - Averett
Drue Vernon - Christopher Newport
Jason Butterworth - Ferrum
Jeff Guerrie - Greensboro
Brian Goodwin - Methodist
Daniel Moore - N.C. Wesleyan
Jesse Henry - Shenandoah