USA South 2019 Football All-Conference Awards

USA South 2019 Football All-Conference Awards

The USA South Athletic Conference has announced its 2019 All-Conference awards for football. Huntingdon's Otis Porter was named Offensive Player of the Year while his coach, Mike Turk, earned Coach of the Year honors. The LaGrange duo of Terron Dixon and Randy Fillingame were named Offensive Rookie of the Year and Defensive Rookie of the Year, respectively. N.C. Wesleyan's Antonio Johnson collected Defensive Player of the Year accolades to wrap-up the individual awards. Finally, the USA South also recognized an All-Sportsmanship Team, consisting of one member from each competing school.

All honors are determined by votes from the football coach at each institution.

Porter, a senior wide receiver from Montgomery, Alabama, becomes the second Hawk to be named USA South football offensive player of the year (Luke Bailey, 2016). Porter leads the Conference with 746 receiving yards and 13 touchdowns. He has averaged 74.6 yards per game and 14.9 yards per catch. In games versus USA South opponents, Porter led all receivers yards (631), yards per game (90.1) and touchdowns (9). For his efforts this season, Porter earned All-Conference honors for the third time in his career, the second as a first team member. Finally, he was named USA South Offensive Player of the Week once this fall. 

Dixon, a freshman running back from Ellabell, Georgia, becomes the second Panther to earn USA South football offensive rookie of the year (Marsalis Jackson, 2013). He led all Conference rookies in rushing, averaging 96.5 yards per game with a League-best 9.3 yards per carry average. Dixon scored seven rushing touchdowns in just eight games played. Against USA South opposition, Dixon carried the ball 82 times for 696 yards, good for 99.4 yards per game, and scored six touchdowns. For his efforts this fall, Dixon was named to the All-Conference Second Team as a running back and collected USA South Offensive Player of the Week and USA South Offensive Rookie of the Week honors twice.

Johnson, a Beaufort, North Carolina senior linebacker, becomes the fourth player in USA South football history to earn defensive player of the year honors in consecutive seasons. He finished the year with a League-best 117 total tackles, 76 of which were of the solo variety which also led the Conference. Johnson collected 12.5 tackles for loss, including 4.5 sacks, while also adding three forced fumbles, three interceptions, one fumble recovery, one pass breakup and one blocked kick. Against USA South competition, Johnson led the Conference in total tackles (78), solo tackles (51) and tackles for loss (10.5). For his efforts, Johnson was named a First Team All-Conference linebacker for the third consecutive year. Finally, he collected USA South Defensive Player of the Week accolades four times this fall.

Fillingame, a freshman linebacker from Bainbridge, Georgia, becomes the second Panther to earn USA South football defensive rookie of the year (Jordan Chambers, 2013). He led all rookies collecting 79 total tackles, of which 54 were solo take downs, also a rookie-high. Fillingame added five tackles for loss, one sack, two forced fumbles and two interceptions, all of which came against USA South competition this fall. Finally, he was named USA South Defensive Rookie of the Week once this year.

Turk, in his 15th season at Huntingdon, earns his fourth USA South coach of the year honor in just the sixth year of the program's membership within the USA South. Picked to finish third in the USA South preseason coaches poll, Turk led his team to the program's fourth League title thanks to a 6-1 mark in Conference play. The Hawks will now head to the NCAA Tournament for the fifth time in program history as they concluded the regular season with a 7-3 record, winners of six of their last seven games.


Player of the Year
Rookie of the Year
Player of the Year
Rookie of the Year

Coach of the Year

Otis Porter

Terron Dixon

Antonio Johnson
N.C. Wesleyan

Randy Fillingame

Mike Turk

The 2019 USA South Football All-Conference Team:

  First Team Second Team
Running Back Jacob Bunch, Maryville
Eric Thomas, Huntingdon
Terron Dixon, LaGrange
Vontre Howard, Methodist
Quarterback Jacob Wright, Averett Michael Lambert, Huntingdon
Wide Receiver Jarrod Mosby, Averett 
Otis Porter, Huntingdon
Tyler Roberts, N.C. Wesleyan
Jai Irvin, N.C. Wesleyan
Xzavier McNeil, Methodist
Chase Nixon, Averett
Tight End/H-Back/Fullback Ben Dorfman, N.C. Wesleyan Terry Stewart, Maryville
Offensive Line Breon Foust, N.C. Wesleyan
Michael Head, Averett
Darrell Hixon, Huntingdon
Kyle Larson, Maryville
A.C. Woolard, Averett
Reed Crosby, Huntingdon
Wyatt French, N.C. Wesleyan
Kodee Kuncho, Huntingdon
Davien Montgomery, Maryville
Justin Parker, Brevard
Defensive Line Trenton Cumby, Maryville
Joseph Ledbetter, Averett
Jeff Person, N.C. Wesleyan
RJ Smalls, N.C. Wesleyan
DeAnte' Griffith, Huntingdon
JaCorey Jackson, Maryville
Joe Thomas, LaGrange
Louis Williams III, Brevard
Linebacker Mal Caldwell, Huntingdon
Antonio Johnson, N.C. Wesleyan
Conner Showalter, Averett
Steffon Canady, Brevard
Bo Hering, Maryville
Jamal Ware, Maryville
Defensive Back Dante Anderson, Brevard
Eddie Graham, N.C. Wesleyan
Peyton Haynes, LaGrange
Hunter Hinson, Averett
Terrell England, Averett
Nate Jones, Methodist
Octavius Ross, Averett
Devonte White, Methodist
Return Specialist Joshua Tapscott, Averett Kobe Praylow, Methodist
Place Kicker Ian Hubbs, Maryville Cole Starr, Huntingdon
Punter Cole Westberry, Averett Bobby Haggerty, Methodist


All-Sportsmanship Team
Chase Nixon, Averett
Brandon Whitfield, Brevard
Mykel Williams, Greensboro
Red Hinton, Huntingdon
Akeem Peterson, LaGrange
Kyle Riddle, Maryville
Greg Sampson, Methodist
Leo Guzman, N.C. Wesleyan