2018 USA South Men's Golf Awards Announced

2018 USA South Men's Golf Awards Announced

The USA South Athletic Conference has announced its 2018 All-Conference awards for men's golf. Methodist University's Chris Drysdale earned Player of the Year honors while his coach, Steve Conley was named Coach of the Year. Maryville College's Tyler Bray was named Rookie of the Year to wrap-up the individual award winners. Also, the USA South recognized an All-Sportsmanship Team, consisting of one member from each competing school.

All honors were determined by votes from the men's golf coach at each institution.

Drysdale, a junior from Yorktown Heights, New York becomes the first Monarch since 2014 to be named USA South Golfer of the Year. He is currently averaging a co-USA South-best 72.0 in 15 rounds of play, has recorded three top-ten finishes and two top-five finishes in seven events. Drysdale has even par or better in seven rounds with a season-low round score of 67 which occurred at the Camp LeJeune Intercollegiate. For his efforts, Drysdale earned First Team All-Conference honors for the first time in his career.

Bray, a freshman from Lutz, Florida, is currently averaging a score of 73.8 in 20 rounds of play which is tied for ninth-best in the League. Bray compiled five top-ten finishes, two-top-five results and one victory. His first collegiate win came at the Maryville College Invitational as he shot even par to defeat 29 other golfers. For his efforts, Bray earned Second Team All-Conference honors this year. Finally, he was named USA South Rookie Golfer of the Week three times this season.

Conley, in his 31st year at the helm of Methodist, earns USA South Coach of the Year honors for the 21st time. He has guided his team to a co-Conference-best 293.4 stroke average in 25 rounds this season. The Monarchs have won three tournaments this year and have finished no lower than sixth in their 11 events. Methodist is currently ranked third in Golfstat's national rankings and enters the upcoming USA South Tournament as the top-seeded team and the two-time defending champions.


Player of the Year Rookie of the Year Coach of the Year

Chris Drysdale

Tyler Bray

Steve Conley

The 2018 USA South Men's Golf All-Conference Team:

First Team Second Team Honorable Mention
Mark Connelly, Huntingdon
Chris Drysdale, Methodist
Larkin Gross, Methodist
Lance Keiser, Ferrum
Stephen Shephard, Huntingdon
Tyler Bray, Maryville
Jared Chinn, Methodist
Levi Grogan, Greensboro
Aaron Purviance, Methodist
Jon Colten Stanaland, Huntingdon
Grady Anderson, N.C. Wesleyan
Scott Campbell, Greensboro
Juan de Giacomi, N.C. Wesleyan
Drew Mathers, Huntingdon
  Tuomas Tyry, Averett
Kevin Kim, Berea
Austin Fisher, Brevard
Will Mayfield, Covenant
Damian Beasley, Ferrum
Jacob Neal, Greensboro
Jon Colten Stanaland, Huntingdon
Jake Nelson, LaGrange
Wil Manuel, Maryville
Jared Chinn, Methodist
Tucker Mooring, N.C. Wesleyan
Cory Selander, Pfeiffer
Matthew Leeman, Piedmont
Cody McDaniel, William Peace