Methodist's Conley Named Div. III Men's Golf Coach of the Year

Methodist's Conley Named Div. III Men's Golf Coach of the Year

NORMAN, Okla. – The Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA) named Methodist's Steve Conleythe Dave Williams Division III Coach of the Year on Wednesday morning.

Conley, who led the Monarchs to their 12th NCAA Division III National Championship this season, has now been named the Div. III National Coach of the Year seven times, the last time coming in 2015, also following an NCAA National Championship. Since 2010, the Monarchs have won three NCAA titles, while no other school has won more than one.

His seventh National Coach of the Year Award adds to a long list of accolades for one of the most accomplished collegiate golf coaches of all time. In addition to his 12 National Championships at the helm of the Monarchs, Conley has finished in the top five at the NCAA championships another 17 times. He has led MU to 23 conference championships, while claiming Conference Coach of the Year honors 21 times and South Region Coach of the Year 15 times.

His program has produced over 50 All-Americans during his tenure, including nine individual NCAA Champions to go with 14 Scholar All-Americans. Conley was inducted into the GCAA in 2007, becoming the youngest coach to ever be inducted.

This season, the Monarchs held the top spot in the GCAA Coaches poll each of the final three weeks of the regular season and picked up regular-season tournament wins at the O'Briant-Jensen Memorial, the Jekyll Island Intercollegiate and the Camp Lejeune Intercollegiate. Methodist's three-day total of 853 (-11) at Jekyll Island established a new tournament scoring record.

At the NCAA Championships, the Monarchs trailed first-round leaders Emory and Guilford by 11 strokes before surging up the leaderboards in rounds two and three. Methodist shot 287 (-1) in the second round and ended the day just three strokes back of Guilford. In round three, Methodist turned in a 282 (-6) – the low round of the tournament – and turned the three-stroke deficit into a 10-shot lead heading into the final day. Methodist would ultimately win the event by 11 strokes over Washington and Lee University. The 12th National Championship ties Cal State Stanislaus, now a Div. II institution, for the most in Division III history.

Release courtesy of the Methodist sports information department.