2019 USA South Men's Lacrosse Awards Announced

2019 USA South Men's Lacrosse Awards Announced

The USA South Athletic Conference has announced its 2019 All-Conference awards for men's lacrosse. The Pfeiffer University duo of Jared Nelson and Spencer Stokes were named Player of the Year and Rookie of the Year, respectively, while Methodist University's Zach Nedbalski earned Coach of the Year honors to round out the individual awards. Finally, the USA South recognized an All-Sportsmanship Team, consisting of one member from each competing school.

All honors were determined by votes from the men's lacrosse coach at each institution.

Nelson, a junior attack from Vestal, New York currently leads the USA South with 106 points on 44 goals and a League-high 62 assists. Both the points and assist totals set new USA South single-season records. Nelson has also added 23 ground balls and four caused turnovers this season. In contests against USA South foes only, Nelson totaled a Conference-high 50 points on 21 goals and 29 assists. For his efforts, Nelson earned First Team All-Conference accolades while being named USA South Player of the Week four times this spring.

Stokes, a freshman defender from Apex, North Carolina has caused a team-high 25 turnovers, a mark that ranks tied for fifth in the USA South. He has also added 18 points on nine goals and nine assists while collecting 36 ground balls this season. In League action, Stokes caused 18 turnovers, the third-highest mark in the Conference. For his efforts, Stokes earned First Team All-Conference honors.

In his sixth season at Methodist, Nedbalski collects his first USA South Men's Lacrosse Coach of the Year honor. He has led the Monarchs to a 9-6 overall record which is already a three-win improvement from last spring. Picked to fifth by the League coaches in the preseason, Methodist compiled a 4-3 record in USA South play to place tied for third. Nedbalski now takes his squad into the semifinals of the USA South Tournament as the second-seeded team.


Player of the Year Rookie of the Year Coach of the Year

Jared Nelson

Spencer Stokes

Zach Nedbalski

The 2019 USA South Men's Lacrosse All-Conference Team:

First Team Second Team All-Sportsmanship
Jared Nelson, Pfeiffer
Jackson McKaig, Brevard
Nick Falso, William Peace


Adrian Harper, Huntingdon
Cade Crews, Methodist
Walker Rice, William Peace

Spencer Stokes, Pfeiffer
John Tartline, Methodist
Griffin Ballard, Greensboro

Matt Murphy, Huntingdon

Robert Kokal, Brevard

Sam Hitt, Huntingdon
Davis Miller, Greensboro
Brady Jenks, Piedmont
John Allen, Pfeiffer


Josh Cobbina, Piedmont
Sam Duffie, Brevard
Anthony Florian, William Peace

Justin Matthews, Greensboro
Raymond Edwards, Huntingdon
Daniel Ramos, Brevard

Zach Czulada, Piedmont

Tommy Barrett, Greensboro

Josh Reffey, Pfeiffer
Marques Fleming, Averett
Chris Efenecy, Brevard
Austin Bane, Greensboro
Logan Wilson, Huntingdon
Jackson Bingham, Methodist
Bailey Coltman, Pfeiffer
Chase Goff, Piedmont
Tanner Brown, William Peace