USA South Men's Soccer Awards Announced

(FAYETTEVILLE, N.C.) - The USA South Athletic Conference has announced its All-Conference awards for men's soccer.  A total of 38 student-athletes have been named to the USA South All-Conference teams. Christopher Newport's Michael Caro has been named the Player of the Year, Marco Kirsch of N.C. Wesleyan is the Rookie of the Year and his coach, Jason Kilby, is the Coach of the Year. The awards are voted on by the men's soccer coach at each institution. Also, for the first time, the USA South recognized an All-Sportsmanship Team, consisting of one member from each competing school.

Caro, a senior forward from Alexandria, Virginia helped lead the Captains offense this fall. Caro led the USA South in points and goals this season. On the year, Caro tallied 41 points on 20 goals and one assist  with a team-best five game-winning goals. Caro also earned First Team All-Conference honors for the second consecutive season. Finally, Caro was named USA South Player of the Week once this fall.

Kirsch, a Celle, Germany freshman midfielder, led the USA South in both assists and game-winning goals while compiling the league's second-highest amount of points and goals. Kirsch played and started in each game, tallying 39 points on 13 goals and 13 assists with six game-winning goals. He earned First Team All-Conference accolades to go along with five USA South Rookie of the Week honors.

Kilby, in his sixth-year as the head of the Bishops, took his team to their third regular season title in the last four years. The Bishops finished the regular season unbeaten and untied with an overall record of 16-0 and a 6-0 conference mark. Nationally, N.C. Wesleyan is currently ranked second and is one of only two teams this season without a loss or a tie. Kilby takes his team into the semifinals of the USA South Men's Soccer Tournament as the top-seed.

Player of the Year                                                                
Michael Caro - Christopher Newport                                                             

Rookie of the Year                                                                 
Marco Kirsch - N.C. Wesleyan

Coach of the Year                                                                  
Jason Kilby - N.C. Wesleyan

The 2007 USA South Men's Soccer All-Conference Teams follow:

First Team Second Team Honorable Mention
Michael Caro - Christopher Newport
Eric Hatchett - Greensboro
Kevin Lue - N.C. Wesleyan
Alimamy Kargbo - N.C. Wesleyan

Marco Kirsch - N.C. Wesleyan
Brian Tweed - Christopher Newport
Robert Fricke - Greensboro

Jason Bottani - N.C. Wesleyan
Matt Page - Christopher Newport
Bryan Davis - Christopher Newport

Matt Tengs - Christopher Newport

Stanley Abada - Averett
Jay Wyatt - Greensboro
Tyler Clare - Christopher Newport

Daniel Jones - N.C. Wesleyan
Brett Brennan - Methodist
Bobby Dabbs - Greensboro

Ryne Nichols - Greensboro
Shawn Trueblood - Christopher Newport
Philip Fritschmann - N.C. Wesleyan

Alberto Faisca - N.C. Wesleyan
Kurt Gardiner - Greensboro

Mike DeMara - Methodist
Andy White - Methodist
Evan Monteiro - Methodist

Rob Ivanovich - N.C. Wesleyan
Edgar Zaldivar - N.C. Wesleyan
Ben Norman - Greensboro

Aaron McGuiness - Shenandoah
Dustin Breckenridge - Methodist
Drew Griffith - Greensboro
CJ Komons - Methodist

Sean Brennan - Methodist

All-Sportsmanship Team    
Jeff Imgrund - Averett
Bryan Davis - Christopher Newport
Kyle Corrigan - Ferrum
Quinton Hurdle - Greensboro
Bret Brennan - Methodist
Danny Jones - N.C. Wesleyan
Karin Kamara - Shenandoah