USA South 2016 Men's Soccer Awards Announced

USA South 2016 Men's Soccer Awards Announced

(FAYETTEVILLE, N.C.) - The USA South Athletic Conference has announced its 2016 All-Conference awards for men's soccer. A total of 39 student-athletes have been honored. Maryville College's Caleb Lucas was named Player of the Year while his coach, Pepe Fernandez collected Coach of the Year accolades. N.C. Wesleyan College's Baboucarr Njie rounded out the individual award winners. Additionally, the USA South recognized an All-Sportsmanship Team, consisting of one member from each competing school.

All awards are voted on by the men's soccer coach at each institution.

Lucas, a Maryville, Tennessee senior forward, becomes the first men's soccer player in program history to be named USA South Player of the Year. He has led the USA South in scoring this season with 19 goals and 47 points while his five game-winning goals are tied for the Conference lead. Additionally, Lucas has nine assists which ranks third in the League. In USA South action only, he was the League-leader in points (31), goals (14) and game-winning scores (4). For his efforts this fall, Lucas was named First Team All-Conference at forward for the second consecutive season. Finally, he was named USA South Player of the Week twice this year.

Njie, a Washington, D.C., freshman midfielder, has made an immediate impact for the Bishops and commanded the center of the pitch in his first season. In starting all but one of the 16 games this season, Njie has tallied 16 points on seven goals and two assists with three game-winning scores. In Conference-only action, he notched ten points on four goals and two assists. Njie earns First Team All-Conference honors as a midfielder to go along with one USA South Rookie of the Week accolade this fall.

Fernandez, in his 28th season as the head of the Scots, earns his second USA South Coach of the Year honor after first collecting the award in 2014. His team, which was picked by the League coaches in the preseason to finish third, won a share of the program's first USA South Regular Season championship by posting a League record of 9-1-0. Maryville currently boasts a 15-2-0 overall record and enters the USA South Men's Soccer Tournament as the top-seeded team.

Player of the Year Rookie of the Year Coach of the Year

Caleb Lucas

Baboucarr Njie
N.C. Wesleyan

Pepe Fernandez

The 2016 USA South Men's Soccer All-Conference Team:

First Team
Caleb Lucas, Maryville
Shamarr Perry, Ferrum
A.J. Wadda, N.C. Wesleyan

Tim Baker, Maryville 
Carlos Barragan, Greensboro
David Cuperman, Averett
Baboucarr Njie, N.C. Wesleyan

Drew Clukey, Greensboro
Thomas Palmer, Maryville

Drew Wiltse, N.C. Wesleyan

Ryan Jorgensen, Maryville
Second Team
Olafur Einarsson, N.C. Wesleyan
Seth Harrison, Methodist
Bret Thomas, Maryville
Caetano Viegas, N.C. Wesleyan

Kobi Boompong, N.C. Wesleyan
Keith Ricks, Ferrum
Cody Vankerschaever, Maryville

Hayden Puryear, Maryville
Rahmel Stewart, Methodist
Cole Watkins, Greensboro

Alex Magner, N.C. Wesleyan
Honorable Mention
Fredrik Aalberg, Methodist
Brendon Van Emelen, Huntingdon

Scott Fatyol, Greensboro
Gerry Madden, Methodist

Kristoffer Skarstein, Methodist
Thorfinnur Thorfinnsson, N.C. Wesleyan

Jonathan Moore, Methodist
Jaime Payamps, Greensboro

  All-Sportsmanship Team
Jake Searcy, Averett
Nate Mackey, Covenant
Roberto Cardoso, Ferrum
Drew Clukey, Greensboro
Zach den Besten, Huntingdon
Jonathan Mann, LaGrange
Kory Yarlett, Maryville
Walter Barnett, Methodist
Thorfinnur Thorfinnsson, N.C. Wesleyan
Cooper Donnelly, Piedmont
Phillip Peaden, William Peace

Be sure to follow the USA South (#usasouth) on the following social media platforms:  Twitter   Instagram   YouTube   Facebook