Berea Wins USA South Men's Cross Country Championship

Berea Wins USA South Men's Cross Country Championship

(TALLULAH FALLS, GA) - The 2017 USA South Men's Cross Country Championship took place on Saturday, October 28 at the Tallulah Falls School Farm Course in Tallulah Falls, Georgia. Berea College captured the USA South championship for the first time in program history. The Mountaineers bested second place Covenant College by 51 points. Individually, Berea College's Logan McKenzie won the meet as he finished the 8,000-meter course first in a time of 25:57.

The top-seven runners at the meet were named First Team All-Conference, finishers 8-14 were awarded Second Team All-Conference accolades while finishers 15-19 grabbed Honorable Mention All-Conference accolades. Additionally, the Conference's Runner of the Year, Rookie Runner of the Year and Coach of the Year were announced. The full all-conference team can be found below.

2017 USA South Men's Cross Country Team Results:

Place Team Score
1. Berea 15
2. Covenant 66
3. Methodist 80 
4 Piedmont 81 
5. Maryville 158
6. Huntingdon 167
7. N.C. Wesleyan 223
8. William Peace 236
9. Ferrum 262
10. LaGrange 267
--- Averett No Team Score


The 2017 USA South Men's Cross Country All-Conference Team:

Runner of the Year Rookie of the Year Coach of the Year

Logan McKenzie

Caleb Aikens

Mike Johnson


First Team Second Team Honorable Mention
(Top-7 Finishers at Conference Meet) (Finishers 8-14 at Conference Meet) (Finishers 15-19 at Conference Meet)
1. Logan McKenzie, Berea
2. Tanner Carson, Berea
3. Landon Bond, Berea
4. Kyle Young, Berea
5. Kerry Jones, Berea
6. Matthew Tueller, Covenant
7. Daniel Beckett, Maryville
8. Andrew Gale, Piedmont
9. Matthew Seitz, Covenant
10. Endashaw Tonja, Methodist
11. Bryce Griggs, Piedmont
12. Sam Hurst, Methodist
13. Zachary Raab, Berea
14. Emmanuell Kemmei, Berea
15. McKinney Brooks, Methodist
16. Corbin Flege, Berea
17. Caleb Aikens, Covenant
18. Jonathan George, Covenant
19. Micah Sneller, Covenant
  All-Sportsmanship Team  
  Chase McKinney, Averett
Zachary Raab, Berea
Hassan Kiprono, Brevard
Matthew Tueller, Covenant
Brett Binnix, Ferrum
Elijah Sarmiento, Huntingdon
Hiram Haro-Oropeza, LaGrange
Ryan Lay, Maryville
Endashaw Tonja, Methodist
Tyler Bird, N.C. Wesleyan
Alex Brown, Pfeiffer
Garrett Stafford, Piedmont
Andrew Roberts, William Peace