2019 USA South Softball Awards Announced

2019 USA South Softball Awards Announced

The USA South Athletic Conference has announced its 2019 All-Conference awards for softball. Athletes from five different teams earned the Conference's five individual honors which is a first since the League expanded its individual awards prior to the 2002 season. Pfeiffer University's Vada Blue Sherrill was named Player of the Year, Maryville College's Katlyn Smith was named Pitcher of the Year, Salem College's Brianne Coleman was named Rookie of the Year, Averett's Hannah Thompson was named Rookie Pitcher of the Year and N.C. Wesleyan College's John Brackett collected Coach of the Year honors. Additionally, the USA South recognized an All-Sportsmanship Team, consisting of one member from each competing school.

All awards are voted on by the softball coach at each institution. The divisional team voting is completed only by those coaches in the particular division. The first team all-conference and individual award voting is completed by all coaches.

Sherrill, a senior shortstop from Hiddenite, North Carolina becomes the first Falcon in program's short history within the USA South to be named Player of the Year in the sport of softball. She currently has a .500 batting average, a League-best .586 on-base percentage and a USA South-leading 1.008 slugging percentage. Sherrill has broken the USA South single-season record for runs scored (74) and total bases (129) and has tied the mark for home runs (15) this spring. Additionally, she leads the Conference with 18 doubles and 49 stolen bases while sitting second with 56 RBI. For her efforts this season, Sherrill collects First Team All-Conference honors to go along with a First Team East Division accolade. Finally, Sherrill was named named USA South Player of the Week twice this spring.

A sophomore pitcher from Loganville, Georgia, Smith, after becoming the first Scot to earn USA South Rookie Pitcher of the Year a season ago, is now the first USA South Pitcher of the Year in Maryville softball history. She currently has posted a 16-3 record with a League-best 1.43 ERA in 112.2 innings pitched. Smith has tossed 16 complete games, including a USA South-high five shutouts, and has struck out 135 batters, the most in the Conference. In USA South-only action, she led the League with an 11-0 record and a 1.07 ERA. Smith earns First Team All-Conference and First Team West Division honors for the second consecutive season while also collecting USA South Pitcher of the Week accolades twice this spring.

Coleman, a freshman third baseman from Creedmoore, North Carolina, becomes the first Spirit to earn USA South Rookie of the Year honors in the program's brief time in the Conference. Coleman currently leads all rookies with a .442 batting average, a .513 on-base percentage and a .758 slugging percentage. She has scored 27 runs with 38 RBI, ten doubles and six home runs. For her efforts, Coleman collected First Team All-Conference and First Team East Division honors while also being named USA South Rookie of the Week once this season.

A freshman pitcher from Pelham, North Carolina, Thompson becomes just the second Cougar to earn USA South Rookie Pitcher of the Year accolades (Heather Mull, 2003). She has posted a 13-4 record with one save in 24 appearances, 15 starts, over 106.2 innings. Thompson has compiled a 2.43 ERA with 110 strikeouts as opponents are hitting .214 against her. She is leading all rookies in wins, total strikeouts and strikeouts per seven innings this spring. In USA South-only action, Thompson was 5-2 with one save and 56 strikeouts. For her efforts this season, Thompson collected First Team All-Conference and First Team East Division honors as an at-large selection. Additionally, she was named USA South Rookie Pitcher of the Week six times and USA South Rookie of the Week once this spring.

In his 28th season at N.C. Wesleyan, Brackett collects his second USA South Coach of the Year honor, the first since 1996. That year was the last time the Battling Bishops saw a regular season Conference title until this season when Brackett guided the team to the East Division title with a 12-4 League record. Overall, it is the fifth regular season Conference championship for the N.C. Wesleyan softball program. The Battling Bishops exceeded preseason expectations as they were picked to finish third in the USA South Preseason Coaches Poll's East Division voting. Brackett now takes his squad into the USA South tournament as the East Division's top-seeded team.


Player of the Year Pitcher of the Year Rookie of the Year Rookie Pitcher of the Year Coach of the Year

Vada Blue Sherrill

Katlyn Smith

Brianne Coleman

Hannah Thompson

John Brackett
N.C. Wesleyan

The 2019 USA South Softball All-Conference Team:

First Team All-Conference
1B - Hannah Hoban, Piedmont
2B - Taylor Campbell, Maryville
3B - Brianne Coleman, Salem
SS - Vada Blue Sherrill, Pfeiffer
C - Alexus Murray, Maryville
DP - Miranda Barker, Salem
Util - Annie Nolan, Huntingdon
OF - Mariann Kennison, Piedmont
OF - Allyson Loy, Greensboro
OF - Candice Smith, William Peace
P - Beth Braswell, N.C. Wesleyan
P - Katlyn Smith, Maryville
At-Large - Madison Hunt, Huntingdon
At-Large - Hannah Thompson, Averett

First Team East Division Second Team East Division First Team West Division Second Team West Division
1B - Bryona Knight, N.C. Wesleyan
2B - Makenzie Pennell, Pfeiffer
3B - Brianne Coleman, Salem
SS - Vada Blue Sherrill, Pfeiffer
C - Sara Brown, Pfeiffer
DP - Miranda Barker, Salem
Util - Summer Phillips, N.C. Wesleyan
OF - Hannah Ivester, N.C. Wesleyan
OF - Allyson Loy, Greensboro
OF - Candice Smith, William Peace
P - Beth Braswell, N.C. Wesleyan
P - Kiana Millsaps, Pfeiffer
At-Large - Kaitlyn Aherron, Averett
At-Large - Hannah Thompson, Averett
1B - Kristen Bailly, William Peace
2B - Brittany Morton, Salem
3B - Samantha Jacobs, Methodist
SS - Amanda Dacunto, Salem
C - Kayla Molivas, N.C. Wesleyan
DP - Madison Cash, Mary Baldwin
Util - Kristina Mojica, William Peace
OF - Jordan Miller, Mary Baldwin
OF - Erin Rankin, Averett
OF - Jasmine Worthy, Greensboro
P - Sarah Gundlach, Meredith
P - Maddy Wetherholt, Greensboro
At-Large - Bryce Smith, Meredith
At-Large - Hanna Stackhouse, Greensboro
1B - Hannah Hoban, Piedmont
2B - Taylor Campbell, Maryville
3B - Emily White, Brevard
SS - Taylor Long, LaGrange
C - Alexus Murray, Maryville
DP - Mari Cook, Brevard
Util - Annie Nolan, Huntingdon
OF - Reid Ballard, Maryville 
OF - Mariann Kennison, Piedmont
OF - Brittany Todd, LaGrange
P - Melissa Eckman, Piedmont
P - Katlyn Smith, Maryville
At-Large - Madison Hunt, Huntingdon
At-Large - Audreonna Lindsey, Berea
1B - Sarah Gordon, Maryville
2B - TK Sauls, Piedmont
3B - Ashley Spencer, Berea
SS - Alyssa Singleterry, Huntingdon
C - Faith Manning, Covenant
DP - Kara Winchester, Berea
Util - Kaylee White, Piedmont
OF - Rayne Ellis, Huntingdon
OF - Ashton Hayden, Maryville 
OF - Rebekah Stegmayer, Piedmont
P - Micayla McCoy, Brevard
P - Lauren Melton, Huntingdon
At-Large - KayLeigh Fitzgerald, Agnes Scott
At-Large - Madison Perryman, Huntingdon


Alexei Young, Agnes Scott
Taylor Hodges, Averett
Hallie Mattingly, Berea
Brittany Franks, Brevard
Cassee Wood, Covenant
Daisy Martin, Greensboro
Ashley Carroll, Huntingdon
Sydney Hodorff, LaGrange
Kayley Turner, Mary Baldwin
Taylor Campbell, Maryville
Madison Hamilton, Meredith
Bethany Junker, Methodist
Meredith Smith, N.C. Wesleyan
Sara Brown, Pfeiffer
Taylor Brown, Piedmont
Stephanie Galioto, Salem
Alexia Rivera, Wesleyan
Liliana Berber, William Peace