Meredith Tabbed as USA South Preseason Women's Lacrosse Favorite

Meredith Tabbed as USA South Preseason Women's Lacrosse Favorite

Meredith College, under the direction of Head Coach Lauren Scott, in her sixth year, was picked to win the 2018 USA South Athletic Conference women's lacrosse title in the preseason coaches poll. Last season, the Avenging Angels captured the program's second straight USA South regular season title and fourth consecutive Conference tournament championship. Meredith received nine of 11 first place votes and 81 points as head coaches do not vote for their own teams in the balloting.

This season, the Conference welcomes new League women's lacrosse-playing members Brevard College and Pfeiffer University. Neither will be included in the polls as they are each reclassifying from Division II and are not eligible for championship honors this season. Additionally, Averett University, N.C. Wesleyan College and Salem College have added the sport of women's lacrosse and will begin competing for a championship this season.

Methodist University was second in the poll with 69 points and the final first place vote. Placing third in the poll with 68 points was last year's USA South Tournament runners-up, Piedmont College followed by Greensboro College in fourth with 55 points. Rounding out the top-half of the poll in fifth place with 41 points was Ferrum College.

The women's lacrosse season gets underway on Friday, February 9 as LaGrange College is in action.

The 2018 USA South Women's Lacrosse Tournament will feature the top-six seeded teams. First round contests will be hosted by the third and fourth seeded teams on Tuesday, April 10. The two top seeds as well as the winners of the first round games will advance to Callaway Stadium in LaGrange, Georgia for the semifinals and finals on April 13-14 as a part of the USA South Spring Sports Festival hosted by the City of LaGrange and Troup County.

2018 USA South Women's Lacrosse Preseason Coaches Poll
Rank Institution (1st Place Votes) Pts.
1. Meredith (9) 81 
2. Methodist (1) 69 
3. Piedmont  68 
4. Greensboro 55 
5. Ferrum  41 
6. Averett  40 
7. Huntingdon  29 
8. N.C. Wesleyan  27 
9. LaGrange  21 
10. Salem 19 
--- Brevard* -
--- Pfeiffer* -
*Ineligible for USA South Championship (Div. III Reclassifying Member)