N.C. Wesleyan Captures USA South Women's Tennis Title

N.C. Wesleyan Captures USA South Women's Tennis Title

(LaGRANGE, GA) - The 2018 USA South Women's Tennis Tournament concluded on Sunday, April 15 with East second-seed N.C. Wesleyan claiming the program's second League Tournament championship and first since 2015. The Battling Bishops defeated East top-seed Methodist, 5-3, to earn the title.

At the number-two singles and number-three doubles positions, Giulia Zanetti was undefeated in the tournament with six total wins en route to earning the event's Most Valuable Player honors.

Stephany Barbera, N.C. Wesleyan
Morgan Buchholz, Piedmont
Jenna Landis, Methodist
Talitha Rowan, N.C. Wesleyan
Ashton Walker, Methodist
Giulia Zanetti, N.C. Wesleyan (MVP)

Women's Tennis Tournament Website
Women's Tennis Bracket
Spring Sports Festival Website

Women's Tennis Tournament Schedule (all times EST)

(all matches played at either LaGrange College or McCluskey Tennis Center)

First Round - Friday, April 13
Match 1: East #3-Meredith - 2 vs. West #2-Huntingdon - 7 (McCluskey)
Match 2: West #4-Agnes Scott - 0   East #1-Methodist - 9 - (McCluskey)
Match 3: West #3-Covenant - 2   East #2-N.C. Wesleyan - 7 - (LaGrange)
Match 4: East #4-Averett - 2   West #1-Piedmont - 7 - (LaGrange)

Semifinals - Saturday, April 14
West #2-Huntingdon - 1   East #1-Methodist - 8 - (LaGrange)
East #2-N.C. Wesleyan - 5   West #1-Piedmont - 4 - (McCluskey)

Finals - Sunday, April 15
East #1-Methodist - 3   East #2-N.C. Wesleyan - 5 (Georgia Tech Indoor Courts)