USA South Volleyball Awards Announced

(FAYETTEVILLE, N.C.) - The USA South Athletic Conference has announced its All-Conference awards for volleyball. A total of 27 student-athletes have been named to the USA South All-Conference teams. Christopher Newport's Brittany Collins has been named the Player of the Year, Michelle Gabson of Greensboro is the Rookie of the Year, Joy Daniels of Greensboro is the Libero of the Year while Christopher Newport head coach Lindsay Birch is the Coach of the Year. The awards are voted on by the volleyball coach at each institution. Also, for the first time, the USA South recognized an All-Sportsmanship Team, consisting of one member from each competing school.

Collins, a senior setter from Richmond, Virginia, has been named Player of the Year for the second consecutive season. She led the USA South in service aces and was third in the league in assists per game. This season, she recorded 10.42 assists, 3.1 digs, 1.1 service aces and 1.0 kills per game. She led the Captains to an undefeated mark in league play as she collects her third consecutive First Team All-Conference honor. Collins also earned Second Team honors as a freshman in 2004. This season, Collins earned USA South Player of the Week honors once this season.

Gabson, a Cary, North Carolina freshman, played an integral role in The Pride's success this season. Gabson led The Pride and was fourth in the league in kills per game. On the year, she averaged 3.7 kills, 2.0 digs, 0.5 service aces and 0.4 blocks per game. Gabson also received First Team All-Conference honors and was named USA South Rookie of the Week four times this season.

Daniels, a Wanchese, North Carolina senior was The Pride's defensive specialist this season. She was first in the USA South in total digs and fifth in digs per game with an average of 4.36. Daniels also earned Second Team All-Conference Honors, her second all-league accolades after appearing on the Honorable Mention All-Conference Team last season. Daniels was named USA South Defensive Player of the Week twice this season.

This season marks the third time that Birch has been named Coach of the Year. This fall, she has led her team to a 30-6 overall record, including a 18-0 mark in USA South play. The unblemished league mark gave Christopher Newport its six regular season title in seven years. In her sixth year at the helm of the team, Birch leads the Captains into the semifinals of the Conference tournament as the top seed.

Player of the Year                                                                
Brittany Collins - Christopher Newport                                                              

Rookie of the Year                        
Michelle Gabson - Greensboro

Libero of the Year
Joy Daniels - Greensboro

Coach of the Year           
Lindsay Birch - Christopher Newport                                                            

The 2007 USA South Volleyball All-Conference Teams follow:

First Team Second Team Honorable Mention
Mindy Altice - Ferrum 
Brittany Collins - Christopher Newport
Michelle Gabson - Greensboro
Brittany Insley - N.C. Wesleyan
Samantha Kirby - Averett
Allison Wolfe - Christopher Newport
Kasey Carpenter - Averett
Joy Daniels - Greensboro
Kacie Hyatt - Greensboro
Ellen Koch - Christopher Newport
Jordan Maupin - Averett
Sara Yeatman - Methodist
Liz Bush - Christopher Newport
Jessica Flanagan - Ferrum
Christie Kirby - Christopher Newport
Meghan Puckli - Christopher Newport
Colena Roberts - Mary Baldwin
Meredith Schwane - Averett
Morgan White - Meredith

All-Sportsmanship Team

Jordan Maupin - Averett
Sarah Coffey - Christopher Newport
Lauren Thurman - Ferrum 
Kacie Hyatt - Greensboro
Kristin Guffey - Mary Baldwin
Laura Sayabouth - Meredith
Kelly Shipkowski - Methodist
Alyssa Balzano - N.C. Wesleyan
Bridget Corbitt - Peace
Chevon Parker - Shenandoah