USA South 2019 Volleyball Awards Announced

USA South 2019 Volleyball Awards Announced

The USA South Athletic Conference has announced its 2019 All-Conference awards for volleyball. Huntingdon's Amy Tyma was named Player of the Year, Averett's Lauren Montren collected Rookie of the Year honors, Meredith's Lauren Phillips earned Libero of the Year while Maryville's Kandis Schram was named Coach of the Year to round out this year's individual awards. Also, the USA South recognized an All-Sportsmanship Team consisting of one member from each competing school.

All awards are voted on by the volleyball coach at each institution. The divisional team voting is completed only by those coaches in the particular division. The all-conference and individual award voting is completed by all coaches.

Tyma, a junior middle hitter from Cleveland, Ohio becomes the first Hawk in program history to earn a USA South volleyball individual award. She currently leads the League in kills (524), kills per set (3.82), points (604) and points per set (4.4) while sitting at fourth both in digs (545) and hitting percentage (.299). Additionally, Tyma has totaled 56 blocks, 47 service aces and 30 assists this fall. Against USA South opponents, Tyma led the way averaging 3.94 kills per set and 4.5 points per set. She collects First Team All-Conference accolades for the second straight season and First Team West Division honors for the third consecutive year. Finally, Tyma was named USA South Player of the Week twice during the fall.

Montren, a freshman outside hitter from Creedmoor, North Carolina, becomes the seventh Cougar, and first since 2015, to be named USA South Rookie of the Year in the sport of volleyball. She currently ranks in the top-six of the Conference in sets played (162), kills (354), total attacks (1,092) and points (392.5). Additionally, Montren has posted 431 digs, 28 service aces, 23 assists and 20 blocks. Against USA South competition, Montren posted the most kills by a rookie (197) which tied her for second in the League. For her efforts this season, Montren received First Team East Division honors while being named USA South Rookie of the Week four times.

Phillips, a junior libero from Greenville, North Carolina, becomes just the second Avenging Angel to be named USA South Libero of the Year in the program's history (MaryBeth Finegan, 2008). She currently is averaging 5.39 digs per set to go along with 1.20 assists per set. Against Conference foes this fall, Phillips led the League with 298 digs while her 79 assists were the high among liberos. Phillips was selected First Team East Division this season and was named USA South Defensive Player of the Week four times.

Schram, in her 34th year leading Maryville, earns her third USA South Volleyball Coach of the Year honor. The Scots captured the USA South's West Division championship, the program's third regular season title, after posting a perfect 14-0 mark in Conference action. With a current 25-6 overall record, Schram has led Maryville to its most wins since the 2014 season. She now takes the Scots into the USA South Tournament semifinals as the West's top seed, looking to capture the tournament crown for the third time and first since 2014.


Player of the Year Rookie of the Year Libero of the Year Coach of the Year

Amy Tyma

Lauren Montren

Lauren Phillips

Kandis Schram

The 2019 USA South Volleyball All-Conference Team:  

First Team All-Conference
Meredith Bonee, Maryville
Caroline Corey, Meredith
Dejane Hester-Taylor, Maryville
Jazzlyn Kenner, LaGrange
Brienna Laskowski, William Peace
Maggie Mathews, Maryville
Amy Tyma, Huntingdon
First Team East Division Second Team East Division First Team West Division Second Team West Division
Caroline Corey, Meredith
Madison Dadez, Averett
Cathy Delano, Meredith
Brienna Laskowski, William Peace
Lauren Montren, Averett
Mya Parks, William Peace
Lauren Phillips, Meredith
Abby Benton, William Peace
Brittany Carpenter, William Peace
Sarah Egbers, Greensboro
McKenzie Miller, Averett
Taylor Moulton, Salem
Kathryn O'Connell, Salem
Sarah Shropshire, Averett
Meredith Bonee, Maryville
Addison Genard, Huntingdon
Dejane Hester-Taylor, Maryville
Jazzlyn Kenner, LaGrange
Maggie Mathews, Maryville
Carolina Robles, Berea
Amy Tyma, Huntingdon
Emily Moore, Covenant
Ashley Murphy, Huntingdon
April Reese, Huntingdon
Leigha Reynolds, LaGrange
Adrienne Roberts, Berea
Alina Roberts, Piedmont
Brianne Sidner, Maryville
All-Sportsmanship Team
Musumaulai Galoia, Agnes Scott
Giselle Harris, Averett
Mersiha Mustafic, Berea
Timiah McGhee, Brevard
Emily Moore, Covenant
Barrett Davis, Greensboro
Taylor Wright, Huntingdon
Samantha James, LaGrange
Emma Tomlinson, Mary Baldwin
Natalie Watts, Maryville
Lauren Grodi, Meredith
Maddie Barga, Methodist
Marisa Corcoran, N.C. Wesleyan
Lili Jaramillo, Pfeiffer
Taylor Brown, Piedmont
Anna Schneider, Salem
Sarah Scott, William Peace