Berea Claims USA South Women's Cross Country Crown

Berea Claims USA South Women's Cross Country Crown

(TALLULAH FALLS, GA) - The 2017 USA South Women's Cross Country Championship took place on Saturday, October 28 at the Tallulah Falls School Farm Course in Tallulah Falls, Georgia. Berea College captured the USA South championship for the first time in program history. The Mountaineers topped second place Covenant College by 24 points. Individually, Methodist University's Lindsey Pritchard won the meet as she finished the 6,000-meter course first in a time of 22:49.

Additionally, the first seven finishers at the meet were named First Team All-Conference. The next seven runners earned Second Team All-Conference accolades, the following seven runners collected Third Team All-Conference awards while the next seven finishers grabbed Honorable Mention All-Conference honors. Also, the Conference's Runner of the Year, Rookie Runner of the Year and Coach of the Year were announced. The full all-conference team can be found below.

2017 USA South Women's Cross Country Team Results:

Place Team Score
1. Berea 44 
2. Covenant 68 
3. Piedmont 73 
4. Methodist 85 
5. Maryville 137 
6. Meredith 155 
7. Agnes Scott 202 
8. Mary Baldwin 236 
9. Salem 261 
10. Huntingdon 316 
11. N.C. Wesleyan 346 
12. LaGrange 373
13. Ferrum 382 
14. Wesleyan 398 
15. William Peace 413
--- Averett No Team Score


The 2017 USA South Women's Cross Country All-Conference Team:


Runner of the Year Rookie of the Year Coach of the Year

Lilly Smith

Makayla Lawler

Katie Stanford
First Team
(Top-7 Finishers at Conference Meet)
1. Lindsey Pritchard, Methodist
2. Lilly Smith, Covenant 
3. Makayla Lawler, Methodist
4. Michelann Settle, Covenant
5. Emily DeNigris, Berea
6. Delaney Williams, Berea
7. Reese Bowles, Piedmont
Second Team
(Finishers 8-14 at Conference Meet)
8. Jamie Welch, Berea
9. Faridah Nalunkuuma, Agnes Scott 
10. Casey Todd, Piedmont
11. Susanna Cook, Maryville
12. Ivanna Sabino, Berea
13. Erin Gonterman, Berea
14. Macy Brinson, Meredith
Third Team
(Finishers 15-21 at Conference Meet)
15. Mackenzie Devine, Piedmont
16. Abigail Schlenker, Berea
17. Heather Hall, Covenant
18. Hayley Clark, Berea
19. Analee Bradach, Piedmont
20. Margaret Fitch, Covenant
21. Taylor Williams, Maryville
Honorbale Mention
(Finishers 21-28 at Conference Meet)
22. Sloan Fletcher, Piedmont
23. Janine Bardell, Salem
24. Jenna Hughes, Berea
25. Allyson Mattera, Methodist
26. Hannah Samuels, Covenant
27. Kaitlyn Carringer, Maryville
28. Caroline Diorio, Meredith
All-Sportsmanship Team
Alyssa Willis, Agnes Scott
Abigail King, Averett
Delaney Williams, Berea
Mary Gray Davis, Brevard
Lilly Smith, Covenant
Cynthia Aldama, Ferrum
Madison Rackley, Huntingdon
Davida White, LaGrange
Jannelly Ramos, Mary Baldwin
Taylor Williams, Maryville
Macy Brinson, Meredith
Ally Mattera, Methodist
Sarah Grossman, N.C. Wesleyan
Kylie Spencer, Pfeiffer
Haley Bolt, Piedmont
Alyssa Bozak, Salem
Chyla Brown, Wesleyan
ShuDon Brown, William Peace