Berea Claims USA South Women's Cross Country Crown

Berea Claims USA South Women's Cross Country Crown

(MARYVILLE, TN) - The 2018 USA South Women's Cross Country Championship took place on Friday, October 26 at the Maryville College Cross Country Course on the campus of Maryville College in Maryville, Tennessee. Berea College captured the USA South championship for the second year in a row. The Mountaineers topped second place Covenant College by 21 points. Individually, Methodist University's Makayla won the meet as she finished the 6,000-meter course first in a time of 23:07.

Additionally, the first seven finishers at the meet were named First Team All-Conference. The next seven runners earned Second Team All-Conference accolades, the following seven runners collected Third Team All-Conference awards while the next nine finishers grabbed Honorable Mention All-Conference honors. Also, the Conference's Runner of the Year, Rookie Runner of the Year and Coach of the Year were announced. The full all-conference team can be found below.

2018 USA South Women's Cross Country Team Results:

Place Team Score
1. Berea 26
2.  Covenant 47
3.  Piedmont 97
4.  Methodist 103
5.  Meredith 141
6. Mary Baldwin 199 
7.  Agnes Scott 224
8.  Maryville 246
9.  LaGrange 257
10.  Salem 283 
11.  Pfeiffer 323
12.  William Peace 338
13.  N.C. Wesleyan 362
14.  Wesleyan 375
15.  Averett 398
--- Brevard No Score
--- Huntingdon No Score


The 2018 USA South Women's Cross Country All-Conference Team:


Runner of the Year Rookie of the Year Coach of the Year

Lilly Smith

Mary Beth Mellhuish

Shawn Jakubowski
First Team
(Top-7 Finishers at Conference Meet)
1. Makayla Lawler, Methodist
2. Lilly Smith, Covenant
3. Emily Denigris, Berea
4. Abigail Schlenker, Berea
5. Mary Beth Mellhuish, Berea
6. Jamie Welch, Berea
7. Lindsey Pritchard, Methodist
Second Team
(Finishers 8-14 at Conference Meet)
8. Rachel Melstead, Berea
9. Maggie Henry, Covenant
10. Alexandra May, Covenant
11. Valeria Angel, Piedmont
12. Hannah Samuels, Covenant
13. Leta Heigley, Berea
14. Michelann Settle, Covenant
Third Team
(Finishers 15-21 at Conference Meet)
15. Megan Miller, Pfeiffer
16. Macy Brinson, Meredith
17. Anna Danek, Covenant
18. Sophia Bethel, Piedmont
19. Lea Mulligan, Maryville
20. Shelbee Knopf, Methodist
21. Haley Bolt, Piedmont
Honorable Mention
(Finishers 22-30 at Conference Meet)
22. Caitlyn Roberts, Berea
23. Mackenzie Devine, Piedmont
24. Casey Todd, Piedmont
25. Analee Bradach, Piedmont
26. Ashleigh Baker, Covenant
27. Hayley Clark, Berea
28. Holly Moreland, LaGrange
29. Josephina Reeder, Mary Baldwin
30. Bethany Bigler, Berea
All-Sportsmanship Team
Allyssa Willis, Agnes Scott
Abigail King, Averett
Hayley Clark, Berea
Hannah Spear, Brevard
Lilly Smith, Covenant
Dalyla Purifoy, Huntingdon
Davida White, LaGrange
Jaquelin Rosas, Mary Baldwin
Rebecca Starks, Maryville
Megan Evans, Meredith
Olivia Mague, Methodist
Alyssa Donaldson, N.C. Wesleyan
Megan Miller, Pfeiffer
Haley Bolt, Piedmont
Maria Martinez, Salem
Chyla Brown, Wesleyan
Anna Roman, William Peace